

INTERGOVERNMENTAL OCEANOGRAPHIC COMMISSION COMMISSION OCÉANOGRAPHIQUE INTERGOUVERNEMENTALE COMISIÓN OCEANOGRÁFICA INTERGUBERNAMENTAL МЕЖПРАВИТЕЛЬСТВЕННАЯ ОКЕАНОГРАФИЧЕСКАЯ КОМИССИЯ

اللجنة الدولية الحكومية لعلوم المحيطات

政府间海洋学委员会

UNESCO – 7 Place de Fontenoy - 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP, France http://ioc.unesco.org - contact phone: +33 (0)1 45 68 03 18 E-mail: v.ryabinin@unesco.org

IOC Circular Letter No 2870

(Available in English and French)

IOC/VR/AF/FC/pbo 6 January 2022

- To : Official National Coordinating Bodies for liaison with the IOC of Electoral Group V
- cc. : Permanent Delegations/Observer Missions to UNESCO of Electoral Group V National Commissions for UNESCO in IOC Member States of Electoral Group V IOC Vice-Chairperson of Electoral Group V GOOS Co-chairs

Subject: Online meeting on 20 January 2022 at 10:00 UTC to select a candidate to serve as the representative on the Global Ocean Observing System (GOOS) Steering Committee for Electoral Group V

By way of this circular letter, we invite Member States from the Electoral Group V, Africa and Arab States to an online meeting on 20 January 2022 at 10:00 UTC to select your appointed expert to serve on the GOOS Steering Committee for the period 2022–2023.

The governance structure of the Global Ocean Observing System was established in 2011 by the IOC Assembly in its Resolution XXVI-8. The GOOS Steering Committee (GOOS-SC) exists to develop targets and work plans for GOOS, monitor its development and assess its performance, and advise on developing GOOS capacity in all Member States. The GOOS SC is "comprised of up to 15 members. Five experts are appointed by Member State 'Electoral Groups' during the IOC Assembly, one from each group. These five experts have, in addition to their technical expertise, the role of providing policy advice and guidance to the Steering Committee, consistent with that of the IOC Governing Bodies."

The IOC Officers agreed upon a procedure to accomplish the nomination of candidates by Member States and the appointment of one expert from each Electoral Group, if possible, by consensus (see Annex). As a consensus has not been reached in the case of Group V at the time of the Assembly session in June 2021 and up to this date, we will move to the next step in this process, which is an online meeting, according to the IOC Rules of Procedure Section XIV ("Voting"), in which a representative of each Member State within Group V can vote for one of the two nominated candidates, Prof. Desiderius Masalu (Tanzania) and Dr Suzan M. El-Gharabawy (Egypt).

Please kindly send the name of your appointed representative to vote on behalf of your Member State to Ms Forest Collins (<u>f.collins@unesco.org</u>) no later than Monday, 17 January 2022. You will

Chairperson

Mr Ariel Hernan TROISI Technical Secretary Navy Hydrographic Service Av. Montes de Oca 2124 C1270ABV Buenos Aires ARGENTINA

Executive Secretary

Dr Vladimir RYABININ Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission — UNESCO 7 Place de Fontenoy 75352 Paris Cedex 07 SP FRANCE

Vice-Chairpersons

FRANCE

Dr Marie-Alexandrine SICRE Directrice de Recherche Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS) 3 rue Michel Ange 75016 Paris

Dr Alexander FROLOV Assistant to the President National Research Center "Kurchatov Institute" Academika Kurchatova pl., 1 123182 Moscow RUSSIAN FEDERATION Mr Frederico Antonio SARAIVA NOGUEIRA Navy Captain (Ret) Directorate of Hydrography and Navigation Rua Barao de Jaceguai S/N 24048-900 Niterói BRAZIL

Dr Srinivasa Kumar TUMMALA Director Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS) Pragathi Nagar 500072 Hyderabad INDIA

Dr Karim HILMI

Head of Oceanography Department Institut National de Recherche Halieutique (INRH) 02, Boulevard Sidi Abderrahmane Ain Diab 20180 Casablanca MOROCCO then receive a calendar invitation to join the meeting as well as the CVs of the two candidates and any other necessary background information.

Yours sincerely,

[signed]

Vladimir Ryabinin Executive Secretary

<u>Enclosure</u>: Procedure for Appointment of Five Experts by Member State "Electoral Groups" to GOOS Steering Committee

Procedure for Appointment of Five Experts by Member State "Electoral Groups" to GOOS Steering Committee

Agreed upon by the IOC Officers at their meeting, 14-15 Jan. 2013

From IOC Resolution XXVI-8:

"the GOOS Steering Committee will be comprised of up to 15 members. Five experts will be appointed by Member State "<u>Electoral Groups</u>" during the IOC Assembly, one from each group. These five experts will have, in addition to their technical expertise, the role of providing policy advice and guidance to the Steering Committee, consistent with that of the IOC Governing Bodies."

Proposed procedure for appointments of GOOS SC experts appointed by IOC Groups:

1. IOC secretariat will write to each Group separately asking them for nominations (with CVs), and reminding them of the expert status / needed expertise for the position. Deadline for nominations will be 6 weeks after letter. The Secretariat will compile and provide the list of nominees to the officers of the IOC.

2. IOC officer for the region tries by e-mail/calls with the IOC National Focal Points to come to a consensus appointment of expert from the Group before the Assembly.

3. If no consensus is reached before the Assembly, the IOC Officer for the region convenes a Group meeting outside of plenary to discuss candidates and try to arrive at consensus.

4. If no consensus can be reached through Group meeting, the Secretariat will conduct a vote, within each Group (only of Group Member States) at a meeting outside of the plenary, in English only*, according to the voting procedures in the IOC Rules of Procedure (Section XIV).

* possibly adapted to dominant Group language(s) based on secretariat ability and availability