INTERGOVERNMENTAL OCEANOGRAPHIC COMMISSION (of UNESCO)

Thirtieth Session of the Assembly Paris, 26 June – 4 July 2019

The attached tables provide the status of candidatures received by the Secretariat and examined and accepted by the Nominations Committee by 28 June 2019, 18 hours for elections at the thirtieth session of the Assembly. The closing date for nominations was Friday, 28 June 2019, 18 hours.

USA informed in an intervention on 2 July 2019 in plenary of the Assembly that it would withdraw its candidature. Subsequently the list of candidatures have been updated to reflect this development.

The elections will take place on Wednesday, 3 July 2019 from 11.45 in Room II with the possibility of extension beyond 13.00.

CANDIDATES BY GROUPINGS OF IOC MEMBER STATES FOR OF ELECTION TO THE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

(as of 2 July 2019 18:00)

Group I (24) (max 10 seats)

Member State		Official form received at the Secretariat	
		Yes	No
Austria			
Belgium			
Canada	Candidate	X	
Cyprus			
Denmark			
Finland			
France	Candidate	X	
Germany	Vice-Chair	X	
Greece	Candidate	X	
Iceland			
Ireland			
Israel			
Italy	Candidate	X	
Malta			
Monaco			
Netherlands			
Norway			
Portugal	Candidate	X	
Spain	Candidate	X	
Sweden	Candidate	X	
Switzerland			
Turkey	Candidate	X	
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	Candidate	X	
United States of America	Was a Candidate, but withdrew its candidature on 2 July 2019	X	

Group II (14) (max 3 seats)

Member State		Official form received at the Secretariat	
		Yes	No
Albania			
Azerbaijan			
Bulgaria	Candidate	X	
Croatia			
Czech Republic			
Estonia			
Georgia			
Montenegro			
Poland			
Romania			
Russian Federation	Vice-Chair	X	
Serbia			
Slovenia			
Ukraine			

Group III (30) (max 9 seats)

Member State		Official form received at the Secretariat	
		Yes	No
Argentina	Chair	X	
Bahamas			
Barbados			
Belize			
Brazil	Vice-Chair	X	
Chile	Candidate	X	
Colombia	Candidate	X	
Costa Rica			
Cuba			
Dominica			
Dominican Republic			
Ecuador			
El Salvador			
Grenada	Candidate	X	
Guatemala			
Guyana			
Haiti			
Honduras			
Jamaica			
Mexico	Candidate	X	
Nicaragua			
Panama			
Peru	Candidate	X	
Saint-Kitts-and-Nevis			
Saint Lucia			
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines	Candidate	X	
Suriname			
Trinidad and Tobago			
Uruguay	Candidate	X	
Venezuela			

Group IV (35) (max 9 seats)

Member State		Official form r	
		Yes	No
Afghanistan			
Australia	Candidate	X	
Bangladesh			
China	Candidate	X	
Cook Islands			
Democratic People's Republic of			
Korea			
Fiji			
India	Vice-Chair	X	
Indonesia			
Iran (Islamic Republic of)	Candidate	X	
Japan	Candidate	X	
Kazakhstan			
Kiribati			
Malaysia			
Maldives			
Myanmar			
Nauru			
New Zealand			
Niue			
Pakistan	Candidate	X	
Palau			
Papua New Guinea			
Philippines	Candidate	X	
Republic of Korea	Candidate	X	
Samoa			
Singapore			
Solomon Islands			
Sri Lanka			
Thailand	Candidate	X	
Timor Leste			
Tonga			
Turkmenistan			
Tuvalu			
Vanuatu			
Viet Nam			

Group V (47) (max 9 seats)

Group V (4/) (max 9 seats) Member State		Official form received at the Secretariat	
		Yes	No
Algeria			
Angola			
Benin			
Cameroon			
Cape Verde			
Comoros			
Congo	Candidate	X	
Côte d'Ivoire	Candidate	X	
Dem. Rep of the Congo			
Djibouti			
Egypt	Candidate	X	
Equatorial Guinea		11	
Eritrea Eritrea			
Ethiopia			
Gabon			
Gambia			
Ghana			
Guinea			
Guinea Bissau			
Iraq			
Jordan	C Plan	N/	
Kenya	Candidate	X	
Kuwait	Candidate	X	
Lebanon			
Libya	G 11.1	**	
Madagascar	Candidate	X	
Mauritania			
Mauritius			
Morocco	Vice-Chair	X	
Mozambique			
Namibia			
Nigeria	Candidate	X	
Oman	Candidate	X	
Qatar			
Saudi Arabia			
Senegal	Candidate	X	
Seychelles			
Sierra Leone			
Somalia			
South Africa	Chair	X	
Sudan			
Syrian Arab Republic			
Togo			
Tunisia			
United Arab Emirates			
United Republic of Tanzania	Candidate	X	
Yemen			

CANDIDATES FOR CHAIRPERSON OF IOC

Member State	Name	Official form received at the Secretariat	
		Yes	No
Argentina	Ariel Hernán Troisi	X	
South Africa Ashley S. Johnson		X	

CANDIDATES FOR VICE-CHAIRPERSON OF IOC

Group	Member State	Name	Official form received at the Secretariat	
			Yes	No
I	Germany	Monika Breuch-Moritz	X	
II	Russian Federation	Alexander Frolov	X	
III	Brazil	Frederico Antonio Saraiva Nogueira	X	
IV	India	Satesh Chandra Shenoi	X	
V	Morocco	Karim Hilmi	X	