oceanexpert oceanexpert

© 2017, UNESCO/IOC Project Office for IODE, Ostend, Belgium   Find us on Google+

Ryukyus University, Faculty of Science

Type Academic
1 Sebaru, Nishihara Okinawa
Tel 81-98-895-6254
Fax 81-98-895-6254
You must log in to view email addresses
Website http://www.u-ryukyu.ac.jp/en/index.html
Activities The Faculty of Science at the University of the Ryukyus consists of three departments: Mathematical Sciences, Physics and Earth Sciences, and Chemistry, Biology and Marine Sciences. The education we provide covers the entire scope of the natural sciences through five main fields: Mathematics, Physics, Earth Sciences, Chemistry, and Biology. While the Faculty of Science recruits students in each of these fields, our aim is to create a flexible educational system that ensures that our students receive a solid and broad foundation in science. One feature of this system involves providing classes with several freshmen and one lecturer in a seminar-type format, this promoting fruitful interaction. Another is the establishment of general education subject requirements that serve to break down barriers between departments.

Created: Last Updated: 2009-12-01

[View active members of this institution (1)]